Roles of heterogeneity in non-equilibrium collective dynamics (RHINO 2021)
August 17 (Tue), 2021 ~ August 19 (Thu), 2021
■ Main Page
    Online / POSCO International Center Hotel
    August 17 (Tue), 2021 ~ August 19 (Thu), 2021
    Complex phenomena such as information spreading, evolution, and learning typically emerge from the interaction between a number of constituents. We focus on systems in which the constituents are already of a macroscopic scale so that microscopic symmetries are spontaneously broken. For this reason, heterogeneity appears as an important keyword of this workshop. For example, we may think of statistical patters of long-term evolution in a population of many individuals with behavioral variations. Such emergent patterns have been characterized in the framework of non-equilibrium statistical physics. One of largely unexplored problems here is how the heterogeneous constituents interact with one another to exhibit universal behaviors. RHINO 2019 was the first attempt to understand roles of heterogeneity, and RHINO 2020 drew further attention to the spreading of COVID-19 as well as people's heterogeneous responses to it. RHINO 2021 aims at putting together various viewpoints on the roles of heterogeneity in physical systems. It will pursue rigorous theoretical understanding and combine it with implications of recent big-data analyses. By doing this, we will compare competing theories to coherent understanding of complex phenomena in terms of heterogeneity.
    Networks, Big data, Biological physics, Complex matter, and Computational Science
    Beom Jun Kim (Sungkyunkwan University)
    Hawoong Jeong (KAIST)
    Hyeong-Chai Jeong (Sejong University)
    Seung-Woo Son (Hanyang University)
    Hang-Hyun Jo (The Catholic University of Korea)
    Seung Ki Baek (Pukyong National University)
    Kousuke Yakubo (Hokkaido University)
    Nobuyasu Ito (RIKEN)
    Takashi Shimada (University of Tokyo)
    Yohsuke Murase (RIKEN)
    Yukie Sano (Tsukuba University)
    Invited Speakers
    Fumiko Ogushi (Osaka University)
    Kenta Yamada (University of the Ryukyus)
    Yuka Fujiki (Tohoku University)
    Hiraku Nishimori (Meiji University)
    Toru Ohira (Nagoya University)
    Masashi Shiraishi (Meiji University)
    Deok-Sun Lee (Korea Institute for Advanced Study)
    Sang Hoon Lee (Gyeongsang National University)
    Junghyo Jo (Seoul National University)
    Hye Jin Park (APCTP)
    Jinhyuk Yun (Soongsil University)
    Pan-Jun Kim (Hong Kong Baptist University)
    Yongjoo Baek (Seoul National University)
    Seung Ki Baek (Pukyong National University)
    Yohsuke Murase (RIKEN)